Breadcrumbs Skip Navigation LinksGraphene Flagship > Project > Boards and Management

Director and management

The Graphene Flagship is coordinated by Chalmers University of Technology based in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Jari Kinaret 
Director of the Graphene Flagship
Jari Kinaret is the leader of the Condensed Matter Theory (CMT) group at the Department of Physics at Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden). He has a background in theoretical physics and electrical engineering and received his PhD in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992. He has been at Chalmers since 1995 and his research focuses on electrical and mechanical phenomena on the nanoscale. Jari Kinaret is a member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).

Vincenzo Palermo
​Vice-Director of the Gr​aphene Flagship
Vincenzo Palermo obtained his Ph.D. in physical chemistry in 2003 at the University of Bologna, after working at the University of Utrecht and at the National Research Council of Canada. In 2005 he joined the ISOF institute of the National Research Council of Italy (CNR), to work on the production and characterization of self-assembled materials and, since 2008, of graphene-organic composites. In 2017 he became professor at Chalmers University of Technology. He has been coordinator of two large EU projects on graphene, member of the scientific committee of EUROGRAPHENE of the ESF, and leader of the Work Package on composites of the Graphene Flagship. He has published 130 scientific articles and has a h-index=34. In 2012 he won the Lecturer Award for Excellence of the Federation of European Materials Societies (FEMS) and in 2013 the Research Award of the Italian Society of Chemistry (SCI).

Andrea Ferrari​​​​

​​​Science and Technology Officer and Chair of the Graphene Flagship Management Panel
Andrea C. Ferrari earned a PhD in electrical engineering from Cambridge University, after a Laurea in nuclear engineering from Politecnico di Milano, Italy. He is Professor of Nanotechnology and the Director of the Cambridge Graphene Centre and of the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Graphene Technology. He is Fellow of Pembroke College, the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics and the Materials Research Society. His research interests include nanomaterials growth, modelling, characterization, and devices. He was awarded the Royal Society Brian Mercer Award for Innovation, the Marie Curie Excellence Award, the Philip Leverhulme Prize, The EU-40 Materials Prize, and The Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award.

The Director is the spokesperson for the Project and the link between different Consortium bodies. The director keeps the bodies informed of Executive Board (EB) and General Assembly (GA) decisions, and informs EB of any relevant issues that arise within the Project's operation. The Director is the main contact point between the Project and the European Commission, as well as between the Project and the National and Regional Funding Organizations.

The Science and Technology Officer (STO) is the chairperson of the Management Panel. Together, the STO and the Director have the overarching responsibility of the scientific and technological aspects of the Flagship.

The director and vice-director are supported internally at Graphene Flagship by the Management Panel, Executive Board, and Strategic Advisory Council and in particular their respective chairpersons.​

The objective of the Graphene Flagship's governance is to provide the project and all of its stakeholders with effective management and legitimacy of its operations. 

The governance is designed to incorporate all of the project's stakeholders, while giving them a voice and accountability in the areas that directly concern them and promoting the operational efficiency to meet the goals of the project.

Page Contact:
Publishing date: 05 September 2018 13:59