Jump to content

EU-Japan Workshop 2019

Time left to event
Pisa, Italy
18 - 20 November 2019
  • Pisa, Italy
  • 18 - 20 November 2019

4th Graphene Flagship EU-Japan Workshop on graphene and related 2D materials

The goal of this workshop was the exchange of experiences, practices and ideas related to the current and emerging topics associated with graphene and related 2D materials in the field of electronics, spintronics, plasmonics, valleytronics, optoelectronics and photonics. A special focus has been given to fundamental materials synthesis, physics and devices.

Workshop and programme chairs

IIT, Italy

Camilla Coletti

Workshop chair

RWTH, Germany

Christoph Stampfer

Workshop chair

Tohoku University, Japan

Taiichi Otsuji

Workshop chair

Tokyo University, Japan

Tomoki Machida

Workshop chair


Jari Kinaret

Programme chair


Atsushi Kurobe

Programme chair


The workshop gathered 34 speakers, 18 from Japan and 16 from Europe.

  • Atsushi Kurobe, Toshiba Corporation, Japan
  • Jari Kinaret, Departmentof Physics, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Riichiro Saito, Department of Physics, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Jose H. Garcia Aguilar, Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, ICN2, Spain
  • Mikito Koshino, Osaka University, Japan
  • Kazuhiro Yanagi, Department of Physics, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Tokyo, Japan
  • Marco Polini, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Graphene Labs, Genova, Italy
  • Tomoki Machida, Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Yasumitsu Miyata, Department of Physics, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
  • Taishi Takenobu, Department of Applied Physics, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Peter Bøggild, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Gianluca Fiori, Dipartimento Ingegneria Informazione, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Junji Tominaga, Nanoelectronics Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science & Technology (AIST), Japan 
  • Ute Kaiser, Centra facility of Materials Science Electron Microscopy, University of Ulm, Germany
  • Masaki Nakano, Quantum-Phase Electronics Center and Department of Applied Physics, the University of Tokyo, Japan; RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science (CEMS), Japan
  • Alberto Ciarrocchi, Electrical Engineering Institute and Institute of Materials Science and Engineering, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
  • Iwao Matsuda,The Institute for Solid State Physics, the University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Annick Loiseau, Lab d’Etude des Microstructures, CNRS-ONERA, LEM, France
  • Daisuke Kiriya, Department of Physics and Electronics, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • Taiichi Otsuji, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku, University, Sendai, Japan
  • Cedric Huyghebaerth, IMEC, APPM, Belgium
  • Hideyuki Maki, Department of Applied Physics and Physico-Informatics, Keio University, Japan
  • Max Lemme, Micro-and Nanoelectronics, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Hitoshi Wakabayashi, School of Engineering and the Research Institute for the Earth Inclusive Sensing, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech), Japan
  • Francesco Mauri, Physics, Roma La Sapienza, Italy
  • Takao Sasagawa, Laboratory for Materials and Structures, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan 
  • Giulio Cerullo, Dipartimento di Fisica, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Kazunari Matsuda, Institute of Advanced Energy, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Christoph Stampfer, JARA-FIT and 2nd Institute of Physics, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Kazuhiko Matsumoto, ISIR, Osaka University, Japan
  • Cinzia Casiraghi, Department of chemistry, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Toshiaki Kato, Department of Electronic Engineering, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Jack Alexander-Webber, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Camilla Coletti, CNI@NEST, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Pisa, Italy